top of page
Search
mingchm

Week 3 “Habits of Mind.”

Curiosity

In our course, we read books, articles, watch video and movies with a Curiosity

In our course, we read books, articles, watch video and movies with a question. Thinking about how does these resources related to gender roles, standards, etc. All these activities open my mind and allow me to think when I read or watch movies next time. This makes me more curious about what other information I receive unconsciously and form my value.


Openness

I learn many things in this course such as gender standards that I have never thought of before. This knowledge and thoughts give me a bigger picture of gender and public entertainment. This opened the mind that makes me more open about the things I unacquainted.


Engagement

There are many group discussions in our class. When I responded to other's post and see other give me a reply, I feel I was connected in the class although all the coursework we did is remote. These teach me some way to engage and I will use these methods to involve in learning more.



Creativity

We have many activities that training us to form our idea from reading or video sources. In our discussion activities, we share our ideas. We can learn how to be creative from reading others' ideas and consider how they come up with their ideas.


Persistence

We learn to be persistent in this class by keeping our goal and work on it throughout the quarter.


Flexibility

Discussion, Quiz, Reading, Watching, and even run a blog website. There are so many different tasks in this course we need to finish. This trains our abilities to handle different kinds of learning problems.


Responsibility

I believe we will learn to be responsible in our group activities.


Metacognition

I have been practice a lot to reflect on my thoughts in our class. For example the discussion, my blog, and comment on other students' blogs.

6 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection

Pt1 This course taught me a lot this quarter. The article annotation and analysis assignment taught me a useful way to examine our...

Week 6 Blog: My Three Sources

Disney put a lot of effort into character diversity. According to Sean Griffin, a guest in the podcast "Disney Is Taking Stereotypes And...

1 comentário


jiayic20
31 de jan. de 2021

I agree with your idea that the course material helps us to be more open to the world. Because we analyze various characters by watching films or reading articles, including heroes and villains, we discover the diversity of the world and become more open to the outside world.

Curtir
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page