top of page
Search
mingchm

Week 2

In this course, I really want to learn a way to read fast and precisely with details. This week, we did a reading activity and discussed our idea. The reading article is Looking into the Magic Mirror: Disney’s Impact on the Fairy Tale Genre by Lynda Haas and Shaina Trapedo. We did a to-do list to learn the way to read and comprehend throughout the article. The process includes predicting the Main Idea, asking Questions, make Connections, Defining keywords, Identifing Excerpts, and writing a summary.


In these activities, I learned to think before I read and write during and after my reading to strengthen my understanding. I found that find out what exactly the keywords mean is essential for the reading. Sometimes vocabulary has different or subtle meaing which could mislead your understanding if you didn't get it. In my annotation, I also found that making connections is important to help me get the idea that the author is talking about. I annotated "Disney movies have always been labeled as kids' movies especially animation movies because they are positive and contain less violence. Also, while kids haven't formed their concept of value, they can easily learn from what they watch." help me understand why and how Disney movies could be "Public Pedagogy" by drawiingng a connection between what the author said and my real-world example. It's also helping me criticize the idea with my own experience. I could say It's true or wrong base on my experience that could be definitely real.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection

Pt1 This course taught me a lot this quarter. The article annotation and analysis assignment taught me a useful way to examine our...

Week 6 Blog: My Three Sources

Disney put a lot of effort into character diversity. According to Sean Griffin, a guest in the podcast "Disney Is Taking Stereotypes And...

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page