top of page
Search
mingchm

My first blog entry

Hello! My name is Warren Ma. I am a second-year computer science student. I come from Shenzhen, China. I like music and play video games when I am free.


The last English course I took before Writing 39A is Academic English 20C. The topic is that course is self-care and community care. I learned how to annotate and cite properly in that course that I believe is very important. Annotation helps me comprehend the source I chose generally and deeply. Citation helps me to avoid plagiarism.


I believe I have a problem when I paraphrasing the sentence. It's hard for me to find another way to tell the same thing. While I think I could do a pretty good job in citing sources because it's quite easy just following the format.


I don't think I did well on the Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect. I believe the hardest part for me is subject-verb agreement questions. The final score is not surprising to me. I know that I need to work harder on my grammar.


The syllabus provides us information about the course, rules, grade options, requirements, and so on. It provides us instruction about survival and success in this class. The course is about giving us foundational concepts of reading and writing. The reason we need to focus on reading is that it is an important skill to be a great writer. We need to have the ability to know how other people express their thesis and the thought behind their sentences. The grade contract guarantees student could get a B if the student finishes all the basic requirement in this course including attendance, conference, assignment, and so on. If we work harder than basic requirements, we could get a grade higher than B.


26 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final Reflection

Pt1 This course taught me a lot this quarter. The article annotation and analysis assignment taught me a useful way to examine our...

Week 6 Blog: My Three Sources

Disney put a lot of effort into character diversity. According to Sean Griffin, a guest in the podcast "Disney Is Taking Stereotypes And...

2 Comments


emmanuv3
Jan 18, 2021

Hey warren! I did not do so well in the language and grammar quiz as well but this is a way for us to learn what we need to work on so it can be reflected back on our writing. I myself am not the best writer but I know that by taking this class I will become a better writer like every one of us who is taking this class.

Like

vivianvu712
Jan 18, 2021

Hi, Warren! It's interesting that your weakness in writing is paraphrasing. I find this difficult as well because it is hard to capture what the text is trying to say in your own words, when the text itself says it the way you would phrase it.

Like
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page